It’s creeping up! *Updated*

Posted: August 25, 2009 in Trying To Conceive
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

hbpI’m headed to the doctor today.

My blood pressure has been elevated lately.

I’m not surprised with everything that has been going on.

High blood pressure runs in my family.

My daddy has it.

My oldest brother has it.

My other brother has heart disease.

I’ve had borderline high blood pressure for about seven years.

So when I noticed it creeping up,

and staying up

panic set in.

I’m also 30 lbs heavier than I was last year at this time.

I know that is a factor also.

Isn’t high blood pressure associated with PCOS?
Yes it is. But it can be managed with weight control, low sodium diet & exercise.

How does all of this factor into us trying to conceive?
HUGE FACTOR!  She can’t prescribe hbp medication while I’m trying to conceive.  Well that’s not entirely true. There are two medications that she could prescribe. I had a bad reaction to one and she refuses to prescribe the other because the side effects are horrible.

What if I get pregnant?
In her words, “That would be wonderful”! But I’m setting myself up for a hard pregnancy if I don’t get myself together right now.

Can pregnant women take blood pressure medication?
Since my hbp is still borderline, she wants me to lose the 30 lbs that I have gained and an additional 20 lbs.  Eat a low sodium and low cholesterol diet. And get my fat lazy ass back in the gym at least five times a week. 

Oh well, I guess I’ll find out what my PCP has to say about all of this.
She’s not happy with the blood pressure or the weight gain. As long as I’m trying to conceive her hands are tied. It’s up to me to handle my blood pressure. I have a follow up appt in 12 weeks. She said there has to be significant changes in my weight & blood pressure at that appointment. Otherwise, we will  need to speak about how healthy it is to continue trying to conceive. 

That was all the motivation that I needed, time to get serious again and get back into fighting shape.

 

Comments
  1. birdless says:

    I don’t know the answers, but just wanted to wish you luck today!

  2. rosesdaughter says:

    Hmmmm. There are blood pressure medicines that pregnant women take. Aldomet to name one. Hmmmmm, must do research…….
    Did she even consider Metformin for the PCOS? It would help you loose weight also if you followed a diet and exercised while on it. Must do more research……

    • TheMrs says:

      I’m on MetforminER (1000 mgs). She prescribed Lebutemol(I know I butchered that) before and I had a terrible reaction to it. I’ll ask her about Aldomet. And please do more research, because if there is something I can take – I WANT IT!! 🙂

  3. brown-eyed-girl says:

    You can do it girl! I know you can. Eat lots of fruits and veggies, that will help you lose some weight. And drink a ton of water.

  4. Rae says:

    I hate that your bp is starting to rise on you, but like you said that can be your motivation. You know I’m all for that. I think I shared my story with you that I posted on soulcysters, but just in case I haven’t let me give you a pep talk. 🙂
    After 2.5 years of trying everything short of IVF, we finally conceived naturally without even trying by me losing 30 something pounds the right way. Low glycemic index foods, low fat, fun exercise, taking supplements. I personally don’t know if it’s so much the weight loss as just getting healthy, know what I mean? You can do it. Set some health goals that have nothing to do with conceiving and follow through. Conceiving will follow. If PCOS is the only issue, it can be beat! I’m a witness. To this day I wish that was my initial reaction to infertility instead of heading straight for meds. It would’ve saved us a lot of heartache and over 10k. I’m behind you cheering you on! Get your Ipod and work it girl!

  5. Jenn says:

    I am so with you on this one….was recently dx’d with slight hypertension. Since we are no longer actively TTC, my doc was able to put me on medication. That is probably NOT a blessing because in all truth, I SOOOO need to get back to exercising and eating healthier. I need to lose the weight I put on after quitting smoking & TTC (about 40lbs- uggghhh!)

    I am right there with ya hon! I know you can do it!

    HUGS

Leave a Reply

