Gail & Emanuel

Posted: August 29, 2008 in Uncategorized

Last Friday my parents celebrated their 44th Wedding Anniversary.  They’ve actually been together for 47 years. They both turned 65 this year.  They have always been my inspiration and my heroes.  I always wanted to be as good a person as is my mother; and I wanted to marry a man like my daddy. 

They’ve been through a lot within those 47 years.  My dad was diagnosed with renal cancer in 1999.  He had a surgical cure when his left kidney, left ureter and a small portion of his bladder were removed. In 2005 his right kidney failed and he went on dialysis.  He will continue to dialyze until he receives a kidney transplant. Prayerfully that will happen soon.  You would never know that he is in renal failure, his unwavering faith and positive outlook keeps him healthy and happy. 

In 2003, my mother was diagnosed with breast cancer.  She had a lumpectomy and radiation treatments for six weeks.  At the recommendation of her oncologist underwent gastric bypass at the end of 2003.  She lost 130 lbs.  We work out together every morning.  Her unwavering faith and positive outlook keeps her healthy and happy.

On August 29th, 2005 they lost everything they owned because of Hurricane Katrina.  My father spent 20 years in the Air Force. Seven of those years were spent overseas in Germany and Japan.  They lost all of the antiques that they purchased while we lived overseas.  They have since purchased a new house here in Texas.  New Orleans will always be home to them, but they will never move back. 

This past Monday, they had to euthanize their 13 year old dog.  Tank had been through so much with them. He was there through cancer diagnosis’ and treatments.  He was with my parents whenever they had to evacuate New Orleans because of hurricanes.  He was always there.  He was their baby and their grief hurts my heart. 

 They have six grandchildren and one great grand-daughter.  They are praying that Shug and I will be able to add to that number.  Prayerfully we will.  Until that time, I will continue to thank God for blessing me with such wonderful parents.

Comments
  1. rosesdaughter says:

    that’s wonderful! My parents have been married for 40 years this year. By the way, is all of your family OK with the Hurricane coming?

  2. imafishey says:

    My parents are wonderful and I’m truly blessed. All of our remaining family in New Orleans evacuated on Friday and Saturday. Some family in Baton Rouge decided to ride it out. We’re prayerful that they will remain safe.

Leave a Reply

